BANG or whimper…

Here it is! Here’s my blog post to wrap everything up.   I think my first blog posts started out strong, but I think halfway through they started to lack in quality. I will do my best to end with a bang, but perhaps, you readers will read though another another whimper. Either way, I will do my best to provide entertaining insight..

Why did my blogs start to devolve? Well, I believe, for me, it was difficult to write new material because the stories seemed to start repeating themselves. Sure, each novel or short story brought something new to the table, but overall, as a reader, it was hard to approach them with new glasses of analysis. Another problem for me stemmed from my insufficiency in the knowledge of science. Cloning, gene splicing, chimeras, etc. are all not my areas of expertise. However, literature and story structure are my areas of expertise. With each analysis, I tried to approach from that angle.  And I will continue my analysis of the entire catalogue with that approach. But, I will be more thorough with my handling of the genetics and science aspect.

Two paragraphs in and we’re finally at the heart of the blog. You reader are Marlow, and this blog post is the congo. The main things I’ve learned from the many, many stories about genetics are these:

1. Good story structure is usually based on a theme or motif.

Sometimes, the stories mirror the structure of a double helix somehow. Saturday is very structured and orderly, like the protagonist neurosurgeon. Cloud Atlas is structured to follow the theme of cyclical time, (genetic?) reincarnation, and mirrors a musical piece featured in the novel…which leads me to my next point

2. Music and Art are highly referenced in these stories. The protagonists are fans of classical music, and often, the very orderly structure of the music reflects the structure of genetics. Art, such as literary, are often referenced too. For similar reasons, but also to support my next point….

3. There is a debate between science and literature. It seems all of the writers are struggling with the debate themselves. They are writers, but they are also highly interested in science. Some authors (like Aldous Huxley) just seem to present the debate, not taking a side, but others, seem to support the classic literature trumps science argument. The post apocalyptic future will be full of unspeakable rights violations, ethical violations, crimes against humanity, etc. I personally feel that literature does trump science, but I do think Huxley’s story (being the less biased) was the better written one. In fact, it’s probably my favorite book of all time! That leads me to my last point…

4. The Diamond in the Rough. After a semester of reading similar literature, I’m a little burned out. However, there have been some stories that have really stood out to me. Their plot, structure, or other factors really struck a chord within my cerebral piano of a brain (Cmaj7 is my favorite). Brave New World, Cloud Atlas, and Generosity will probably be future rereads (and future reanalysis). If all writing is rewriting, all reading must be rereading!

You have now discovered my horrible secret. I’m a literary critic at heart. At the end of the day, the science is secondary. What matters the most is the story. If anyone disagrees, well then I say, exterminate all of you brutes!  As a blogger about genetics & fiction, here is my quick and painless death. (Perhaps I did end with a whimper? At least the parenthesis don’t help).

Leviathan

~ by leviathan on April 21, 2012.

One Response to “BANG or whimper…”

  1. I love the T. S. Eliot and Joseph Conrad references.

Leave a Reply

 
