Attention, please. The Sleepless – I loathe you!

Imagine yourself in a world where humans have a choice to pre-select, or engineer, genetic traits for their children. Not every trait can be pre-selected, but many are available to choose for children. This is the world presented in Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress. One of the newest innovations is engineering humans to not ever sleep… ever. This may sound like a dream or a nightmare, 2 things that sleepless humans can’t even imagine. Either way, there is a great potential for hatred due to certain advantages that engineered humans possess that naturally selected humans cannot compete with. Genetically engineered humans would receive a lot of flack for their unnatural characteristics, though their engineered traits were not their decision but rather that of their parents.

Personally, I would probably be biased against the Sleepless, especially in the college scenario. For example, in the two pictures below, at three o’clock in the morning, I would look like this picture, completely passed out and non-productive.

One of the Sleepless would be awake all night, being productive..

Or maybe not.

My point is that, productive or not, the Sleepless have an unfair advantage over us that have to sleep. Don’t get me wrong, I love sleeping. I can’t imagine life without sleeping. But, far too often I have those nights, like everyone else, when it doesn’t seem like there are enough hours in the day to do everything I need and want to do. I have to sacrifice gaming time for homework time, and sometimes I have too much gaming time and not enough homework time. The Sleepless would never have to worry about having enough time, but rather how to organize their time.

I think if genetic engineering of humans was possible and the possibility to alter a human to never sleep was real, many people would be outraged by the unfair advantages, especially in competitive environments like college and jobs.

-Lynne M.

~ by peacelovecake on April 1, 2010.

One Response to “Attention, please. The Sleepless – I loathe you!”

  1. I think you are right….at first genetically engineered humans who don’t need sleep would seem to have an unfair advantage. But we obviously need sleep for a reason. Its our body and mind’s time to reset. Without sleep, would these Sleepless individuals really have a leg up? I’m not so sure.

Leave a Reply

 
