The Ultimate Sacrifice-Morality of Cloning

In my personal opinion, cloning is a very sensitive topic. Since I know very little about the science of cloning, I don’t feel that I can discuss the scientific implications and benefits of cloning. But I will say, morally I think cloning is a tough decision.

The thought of producing a human being for the benefit of donating organs for the remainder of his or her life is quite disturbing. I feel that there is some sort of negative, strange stigma attached to the idea of cloning and clones. While reading Never Let Me Go, I was surprised to discover that all the characters were clones of their “producers.” I couldn’t help but instantly change my view of their relationships and character traits as a reader, especially after viewing “The Island.” I felt distant from the characters because I could not relate to their lifestyle of conditioning and restrictions. In my mind, I imagined them like Lincoln and Jordan from “The Island.” In the outside world, Lincoln and Jordan are unique and extremely different, almost un-human. As discussed in class, these characters in both the novel and film seem stuck with no “escape” from their predestined organ donning. These characters are trapped in a life where they give organs until they die when their bodies are too weak to recover and rejuvenate. This is the part of organ donning that I have an issue with.

I don’t think that a human should be cloned and created with the idea of benefiting another human being. I do the see the benefits of saving another’s life, but sacrificing a human for another without consent seems unfair. If I were faced with the question of accepting an organ from a cloned organ donor, I would definitely struggle making that tough decision. Especially after reading these books and seeing how these clones may be bred and conditioned like stock animals. I think its tough to say yes, I would take an organ without thinking where the organ came from and if it was from a clone or not. I really can’t even imagine a world with clones to be honest. I can’t imagine taking a vital organ from another human for my selfish purposes, especially when my benefits only bring distress to another human. This idea of cloning is so foreign to me until this course that I struggle sometimes with understanding the moral idea behind clones.

Again, with little knowledge of the scientific implications, as we also discussed in class, I would think cloning individual organs may be more beneficial. With cloning organs a human is not forced to live a life of donation, recovery, donation, recovery, and eventually death. As a female, the idea of female characters in Never Let Me Go never being able to have children is depressing. Especially since in our society today families and children are such an important part of life. Cloning individuals in my mind seems to unfairly make humans into “sacrificial lambs” if you will. These individuals never get the choice to live this lifestyle nor do they automatically want to conform to this life of donating. I think it is unfair to force this sacrificial life upon a human being. Cloning steals away human freedoms without regarding personal emotions and happiness. Is it fair for children to be subjected and predestined to a future of sacrifice despite their personal ambitions and desires?

LL

~ by frumll on February 16, 2010.

One Response to “The Ultimate Sacrifice-Morality of Cloning”

  1. These media are meant to show the dark side of cloning, the slippery slope. I agree one life should never be exchanged for another.

Leave a Reply

 
