Give or Take?

Would I take an organ from someone in order to live? Uhh…

…Would I give someone a piece of myself in order for them to live? Yes.

I gave bone marrow to a little girl named Lillie at Boston’s Mass General Hospital the July of 2008. She flew all the way there from Little Rock, AR, and she was the cutest little girl.  Here’s a picture of her before she got sick.

Lillie, age 4 - Her father is a photographer (clearly)

So, I believe, no matter how you slice or dice (pun intended) this issue, it comes down to “give or take”. Would I take an organ? I don’t know if I can say no. I want to; I want to be able to say I’m selfless enough that I would never, but I believe I do not know what I’m talking about. I’ve never starred death in the face; I don’t know myself or what I’d do in that situation.

What I do know is, should there be more people who do what I did, there would be more “Lillies” (who’s just now starting to have her hair grow back) and less “Tom Lincolns”.

– M.I.D.

~ by insomniac on February 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
