Organ Harvesting and … Vegetarians?

When we were first presented with the question of whether we would take organs from clones, I was appalled. Or at least a little creeped out. The whole cloning thing seems so unnatural.

My strongest argument against taking organs from clones was that the clones in Never Let Me Go and The Island are unwilling clones. They never volunteered for this. They were always told that they were “special.”

But reading other peoples’ posts, posts that question “where we draw the line” or that assume that we could eventually be conditioned to accept cloning for organs as “natural,” I realize there is some truth to these arguments. The best analogy that I can come up with is to vegetarianism. I’m not a vegetarian, but I do believe animals are sentient. And yet I can’t say I feel any overwhelming guilt after a trip to Chick-fil-A. For all I know, my chicken never offered itself up for the greater culinary good. It was raised for a purpose, wasn’t it? Maybe someone told my chicken that it was “special.”

I have to admit, now thinking about my chicken before it became a sandwich disturbs me a little. I’m not trying to make you lose your appetite, and I’m not trying to convince you to become a vegetarian. My point is this – that I refuse to put my lunch into a broader and more disgusting context so that I can fully enjoy it; in a similar way, I suppose it could become natural enough to see an organ and refuse to acknowledge it’s source so that we could reap the benefits guilt-free.

-Michelle C.

~ by Michelle Cohen on February 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “Organ Harvesting and … Vegetarians?”

  1. I love your comparison of clones with animals killed for food! I feel the exact same way you do about it, though. I know the chicken was raised for it and it’s kinda sad to think about, but oh well. And yes, maybe the same thing could possibly happen with human clones.

  2. Really interesting concept — I never thought about eating meat like this before. It is interesting how you present animals as being harvested for their food like humans were harvested for organs in Never Let Me Go. Very thought provoking!

  3. I agree with the other comments. You present a very interesting analogy!

Leave a Reply

 
