How about donating an organ to a clone?

Sure I’d take a heart, kidney, liver, or other organs from a clone, why not?However, I think it is important to differentiate between situations in which I would take (or give) and organ.

Let’s take a situation in which someone died, is severely injured, or otherwise close to death due to some horrible accident. If I was that person, I’d have absolutely no need for my organs, and, assuming they were still functioning, I would be more than willing to donate them. Why not?

Let say I had a 1% chance to live, or even a 10% chance to live, but a matched organ recipient would have a 50% chance of living if they got my heart. Seems rather obvious to me that the other person could put it to better use, so I’d say go ahead and take it. Let’s assume the organ recipient was a clone, so what? No reason to discriminate between clones and non-clones.

Perhaps someone wouldn’t be willing to give up an organ if they were on their death bed, or to end their life early to donate an organ to someone who has a better than of living. But I’d at least expect other people to be a registered organ donor in case of an accident.

If it ever comes to the point when we start cloning people, I would expect the exact same thing of clones to – they aren’t any different from other humans. I think the question, however, should be phrased more along the lines of “Would you take an organ from an unwilling [cloned] donor?” To me, the answer is the same, regardless of whether or not it refers to clones. No, I wouldn’t take an organ from a living, unwilling person, regardless of whether or not they are a clone.

However, let’s say the unwilling donor just kicked the bucket, and there is still time to harvest the organs, then I’d go for it. Whether it was for myself, someone I knew, or a complete stranger, it would be completely illogical to let those organs go to waste, regardless of whether or not the person wanted to donate them or not. So, to that extent, I guess one could say I’d take organs from an unwilling donors, even ones that weren’t cloned.

– Promethium

~ by xanthochroi on February 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “How about donating an organ to a clone?”

  1. I totally agree with your point. If an organ is about to go to waste, then why not put it to a better use? If we ever get to the point when we have the technology to clone people and we actually clone them, then why shouldn’t we donate organs to them as well? If life is precious, then why not try to preserve it specially when organs that could save lives are going to go to waste? Even if clones are not thought of as “human” they are still living things, so we should try to save their lives as much as we would try to save a normal human’s life.

  2. Remember odds are odds. Nothing is certain. But unless a person is brain dead (or requires extreme measures to live), a doctor won’t take a healthy organ from someone just because they have lower odds of survival than someone else.

  3. Let’s take a hypothetical situation. You got in a severe car crash and, although you were conscious, you had almost no chance of survival, but many of your vital organs were still fine. Imagine that in the bed right next to you there was another person who needed a liver, heart, or whatever other organs within the next few hours, and they would have a substantially higher chance of surviving than you.
    Now, given that situation, does it seem at all logical to try and save your own life, or does it make more sense to give up a vital organ to someone who has a much better chance of surviving?
    It seems like a rather logical decision to me to give up that organ. There is a very good probability that I won’t be using it much longer, and if by giving up my life a few hours, days, or weeks early would give someone else a much better chance of living, then I see no reason why that shouldn’t be done.
    I’d much rather prefer to have my organs be of some use, rather than have them rotting underground, regardless of whether that would involve donating my organs to someone else, or donating my entire body for scientific research.

    What would you do?

    -Promethium

Leave a Reply

 
